Confit Spring 4.28.2011

One of the oldest forms of food preservation, gentle cooking in fat can heighten any ingredient and its subtle nuances. Most are used to hearing the word duck attached to the word confit, but you can confit almost anything. As summer is approaching and warm weather is bound to happen (I hope) a lot of us are thinking ahead of the crop we plan to harvest as well as looking forward to new produce in our markets. So why not celebrate the pure flavor of these amazing vegetables by a confit. Make sure to avoid strong flavored oils such as that spendy extra virgin olive oil you blew $20 on, save that for you bread. Go for clean stuff, I like shortening or lard. A small terrine is great for economizing fat use and making sure your ingredients stay submerged. You may be surprised by the lightness of the final product as well as how it tastes so… like… the thing it is times 100. Check it.

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in my food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

