Sauternes 6.19.2011

It was a very long week, so yesterday I decided to treat my self to one of my favorite meals, meat and dessert wine. Sauternes is one of my favorite dessert wines, and if your not familiar it can be made from Semillon, Sauvignon Blanc, and Muscadelle grapes that have been molded by Botrytis Cinerea, a fungus know as noble rot. This particular fungus changes the grape, intensifying flavors and increasing the brix (sugar level). I used to be really turned off by sweet wine, but then I had a Sauternes, the acidity and nuance of flavor along with an incredibly long finnish had me hooked on literally the first taste! Now Sauternes makes up a good chunk of what is in my cellar, especially since it can age for a very long time…yes white wine can age. The lunch pictured was; a glass of Sauternes, pork rillette hand pie, and pickle plate from Olympic Provisions.

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in just food, places to eat, wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

