Ham & Cheese Waffles

Ok kids, this one is strait from the pages of the March Bon Appetit, but I couldn’t resist! BA gives their own waffle batter recipe, but I just used my old stand by which happens to be Bob’s Red Mill Buttermilk Pancake and Waffle Mix. So all you need is your favorite batter, grated cheddar cheese, and torn bits of deli ham. What BA doesn’t mention, but I would add to the recipe is how you apply the cheese and ham. BA says spread it on top and cook till golden brown, I found that in my waffle iron the cheese got a little too burned by the time the waffle was done, so instead put in half your batter then add the cheese and ham, then put the other half of your batter on top and close your waffle iron. This protects the cheese from burning by the time your waffle is crispy. Serve these with butter and syrup, I had mine for dinner and paired my Belgian waffle with a Belgian doppelbock by Weihenstephaner, obvious and yummy!

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in just food, my food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

