Sunny Day Mosel 5.14.2011

Friday was a great day in the city. The Portlanders seemed to emerge into the warm sunlight like pale little hibernating animals. I found my self wanting to cook outside, so I decided to run to the store to get something to throw in my smoker as well as something to sip on in the late afternoon sun. German Riesling is one of my favorite summer wines, so that was what went on my list. Big credit goes out to Heather the cheesemonger at Laurelhurst Whole Foods, she went way above the call of duty to scrounge me up a bottle of Riesling, from the Mosel no less. It was a bottle of 2009 Romerhof, 2009 was a really good year in the Mosel and the Heinz Eifel family has been making wine there for over 400 years, no joke. This bottling over delivered on quality for the price, which rolled in around 9 or 10 bucks. Needless to say the rest of my day was cake, and Alder smoke filled my stoop and the surrounding lots. Thanks to the always amazing help at my neighborhood store.

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in just food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunny Day Mosel 5.14.2011

  1. i see you are making great use of the image grid system!!! …soon the student will become the master.

  2. Heather Hunt says:

    My pleasure! I’m so glad I was able to help make your meal splendid. Is that Buckaroo cheese? Also fantastic choice! Nice images as well.

    Thanks again for the shout out and have a great weekend!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

