Harvest pt.1 Plants 5.23.2011


It seems that if you enjoy cooking long enough, you eventually feel the urge to grow your own ingredients. Many of my friends and I are in the throws of planting our vegetables for the season, since we have had a very cool spring in Portland. It is such a fulfilling endeavor to grow a plant to feed yourself. This year I focused on what works well in my scenario which is pots, due to my 2nd story dwelling. I have had great luck in the past with Japanese eggplant, herbs, and cayanne peppers as well as lettuce greens all types, so those all found their place this year. The rookie for the year is my Arbequina olive tree, which is the size of a topiary at the moment, it looks like it will bud and I have my fingers crossed I will see a little fruit this year. Growing my own vegetables brought me leaps and bounds closer to many things outside the realm of cooking, but essentially the ability to grow your food connects you with life in a much closer way. I think it tastes better too.
….pt2 Animal….

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in my food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

