Bone In 5.29.2011

When you step up to the meat counter in your favorite store you are confronted with many choices, but one is constantly asked. Bone in, or bone out? Many opt for bone out, so many in fact that often when I ask for bone in, the butcher has to go in back to get it. There are several advantages to bone-in-meat, first and foremost it is more flavorful! Bones simply have a lot of flavor packed in them, that is why stock is made from bones. Second it is cheaper, the butcher has to do less work so that makes a difference in price. The third advantage is, you can still have it boneless. With a boning knife and a little guidance you can turn your whole broiler chicken into all those wonderful cuts you see in the meat case! click here for my favorite chicken boning guide by Alton. Try your favorites bone in and expect to save a little, get better pan sauces and more flavorful meat. Pictured; bone in center cut pork chop on apple and whole grain mustard confit, and salad from the garden.

 

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in my food, professional/celebrity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bone In 5.29.2011

  1. Genna says:

    Among other things, I love you for this.

Leave a Reply

