About Wine 6.2.2011

I have yet to include wine much at all in my postings. For one reason or another I have somewhat ignored something I am way into. I got real nerdy about wine almost two years ago, and have not looked back since then. It was a natural progression since I have such a gastronomic interest, that I would eventually embrace wine at some level. However I did not expect wine would be a main focus for me. I am constantly attending wine tastings, and ever shopping bottles, as well as the occasional class and winery visit. Tonight I based my meal around the wine, which was a 14 year old Languedoc blend by Domaine du Mas Blanc which I have had before and love. The nose blows far out of the glass and shows vanilla, red fruit, smoke, and herbs. The mouth follows suit, but drops some of the obvious vanilla and has great mouth feel as well as amazing balance all the way through the finish. I drank this with a porcini rubbed ribeye and salad from the garden. Wine and those who make it are truly amazing, they pass on a sealed vessel of their hard work and passion, which in turn will become a part of our meals and sometimes our lives.

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in my food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

