Stocked For Fall 10.23.2011


This is the first in a series of larder posts I will be making over the next couple weeks. This time of year I feel that urge to stock up, preserve the flavors of the growing season for the winter to come. There are some great assets you can add to your larder and ice box that will turn cold dark winter nights into hearty renditions of the summer months. Today I bolstered my pickle stock with  a much used recipe here, this afternoon I added cardamom and sweet pickled onions, as well as curry and ginger pickled zucchini chips. Pickles are a must for a meat or cheese board and they will take your grilled cheese sandos to interstellar dimensions! Other jars include spicy red scallion bulb, coriander squash chips, spicy sage pickled fennel bulb and rhubarb, and pickled forest nameko mushroom.

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in my food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

