The Woodsman Tavern

Last night I went to The Woodsman, a cabinesque corner tavern that is very focused on food. It was all around amazing! From the service, food, and decor, to the drinks it was all great! Their menu is very northwest with many old technique dishes like potted pork en croute, and pickled herring, as well as a gorgeous seafood bar. My friend Lindsey and I had a half dozen oysters on the half shell, the potted pork en croute, the potted chicken liver with kumquat jam and toasted brioch, the Johnston county country ham plate, and a cacao bread pudding. I also got to meet and chat with one of The Woodsman owners and Stumptown founder Duane Sorenson who was an awesome guy, as well as ran into a good friend and SE hood icon Kimberly Hoeschler. Before the night was over one more treat was in store, I happened to glance up at the top self of spirits behind the bar and there I saw Pappy Van Winkle’s Family Reserve! So ironically enough I got to try the bourbon I had blogged earlier yesterday, and it was truly very good, the best bourbon I have had easily. So all in all, The Woodsman killed it, and I will be back!

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in local, places to eat, professional/celebrity, spirits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

