Dry Age At Home

Every so often I love to treat my self to a really excellent steak, and when I do I always visit Christian at Pastaworks Hawthorne. His beef is from the Basque Ranch in Mollala Oregon and it is very very good! Alas however you generally have two choices when getting a bone in ribeye steak, which is my personal favorite cut, he has a fresh primal, and his dry aged primal.  I usually opt for the fresh to help save a little money as the difference is $10 a pound, but lately I have been dry aging these fresh steaks in my fridge. Now before I go any further let me state that these “home dry aged” steaks are no where close to what Christian is offering as dry aged beef, his beef was aged as a primal for a little over 40 days, and is truly dry aged beef done by an expert the way it should be. That said however, I have had positive results dry aging single steaks at home in my fridge in as little as 4-6 days. The fact that you are letting a single steak dry as apposed to the whole primal lets a fair amount of moisture evaporate in such a short time, which concentrates flavors while enzymes in the meat break down tough fibers making the meat more tender, which is really what all this dry aging is about. A few hard rules if you do this are to be followed, buy the best beef,  there is no point in concentrating the flavors of a cheap, grey steak. Have your butcher cut it thick,  1.5 to 1.75 inches, this will ensure you have a nice cut of beef that can handle your windy fridge for a week. Stand it up on a perforated tray or draining rack to allow air to circulate all around. Keep a clean fridge, any funky smells in your fridge will be picked up by your steak, so no tuna salad left uncovered! Once all this is taken care of let your steak rest uncovered in your fridge for as little as 4-6 days, and you will notice it darken, firm up, take on a sweet smell, and shrink slightly. Season and cook it your favorite way, and enjoy the best home steak you’ve had!

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in local, my food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dry Age At Home

  1. Torry says:

    very thoughtful and detailed I Iike the passion. RDT

Leave a Reply

