Mimolette Vieille Losfeld

 

Yesterday I was at shopping for groceries, and my cheese monger Heather at Whole Foods Laurelhurst got wicked with an impromptu cheese tasting on me. She let me sample several cheese which were all amazing, but I ended up walking out with the cow’s milk Mimolette. Besides loving the name of this cheese it first caught my eye cause of its glowing apricot color! It is very firm and dry, the texture is chewy at first then gets creamy, the flavor is rich and buttery and has a cheddar like quality that gives way to a very distinct and long hay like finnish. I need to explore cheese more, cause I am clearly missing out on some special stuff! Thanks Heather!

 

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in larder, local and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

