Meat Fix pt2: Le Pigeon

Last night was the second installment on my birthday crusade for  amazing meat… and most of all foie gras! Le Pigeon is truly one of Portland’s hallmark restaurants, and the line up last night was nothing short of extraordinary! I could not get any good photos of our dishes, so you will have to go see for your self. Starting the dinner was the fried oysters on a bed of chicken liver mousse, with salsify and lemon jam, then sweetbreads on a smoked tongue tart with rosemary and balsamic mousse. The entree was venison topped with foie gras, yorkshire pudding and currant and an ’04 Tenuta Vitanza was drank with all the above. For dessert, yep you guessed it the foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt, and to drink a ’03 Castelnau de Suduiraut Sauternes.  Thank you so much for dinner Gabriel Rucker & all Le Pigeon!

 

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in local, places to eat, professional/celebrity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

