Yakitori

After cooking on chunked hardwood charcoal at my little brother’s in Bend I was hell bent on figuring out a charcoal solution for my extremely cramped back landing at my one bedroom apartment. I used some parts from my earthenware smoker I made a few years ago, about a dozen clay bricks from Home Depot, and a Lodge cast iron pan, and booya I can now grill or smoke over charcoal! My first venture was a 3 lb tri tip which a slow cooked to medium rare and then had the most amazing roast beef sandwiches all week. Then I got hooked on Yakitori which is the japanese technique of grilling skewered food over hot coals. I did chicken Yakitori 3 nights in a row with scallions, and crimini mushrooms. It was so good, and I must admit it is all about the charcoal!

About Todd Templeman

I am a product and fashion stylist in Portland OR. But more than that, I love to eat. I love what it makes me think about, or even see. I love that food brings family and friends to your door, or can be your best friend on a lonely night. I love all the aspects that surround great food, and my blog will contain a cross section of the food related happenings in my life and the world around me. Enjoy...
This entry was posted in ingredients, my food, seasonal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Yakitori

  1. Torry says:

    Todd: I am missing your blog entries! They were humorous, interesting and a visual joy! Hope this is just a summer hiatus and not the end of your writing!

Leave a comment